Tales of Rape from Democratic Republic of Congo

Posted on Updated on

image

    It hurts me to read about the horrific rape stories in the Democratic Republic of Congo, especially because there’s only very little I can do to help- I blog, I try to create awareness. According to the United Nations statistics, in the DRC, commonly called the rape capital of the world 3600 people have been raped in the last four years. No one is excluded- women, men, children, even aged people. Such a sad reality!
                           ***

image
After my daughter died, I lost faith in humanity.... A DRC rape victim

‘After my daughter died, I lost faith in humanity.’ I haven’t been able to get my mind of that sentence made by this broken old lady you see in the picture above. You won’t also when you hear her story:
Inside a small wooden house overlooking the massive Virunga National Park, Bakazi Ndazimo, 70, tells Al Jazeera about the worst day of her life – the day she stopped feeling human; the day she was beaten and raped.
Ndazimo’s story:
The only reason I am able to talk about this is because of my age, and the fact that I am not going to remarry.
The attack happened in late November 2012, just after the M23 militia took control over Sake, Ndazimo’s hometown, situated 27km west of Goma in the eastern province of North Kivu.
She was cooking a meal for her grandchildren when a group of rebels stormed the house, grabbed her, and violently dragged her to another neighbourhood.
There, in the shadow of some tall bushes, she was raped by two soldiers.
I was screaming at the top of my lungs when they ripped my clothes off, but the neighbours quietly went back to their houses and closed the curtains. For them it was just another rape.
Only three weeks later, the family was targeted again. This time a group of rebel soldiers came for Ndazimo’s daughter, who was raped so viciously she later died from her injuries.
Ndazimo now cares for her daughter’s children. Following the death, Ndazimo was left to take care of her daughter’s six children after their father abandoned them.
After the rape and death of my daughter, I lost faith in humanity. I don’t expect anything from anyone any more.
     I’ve written so much about the rape crises in the DRC, where rape is being used as a weapon of war in the war ravaged country.
See some of the posts below:
Rape and sexual violence in the DRC
Abducted and raped: A real life story
     Dear reader, kindly share your suggestions on what could be done to save these innocent people in the DRC, in a country were it is more dangerous to be a woman than a soldier.
#SaveHumanity

2 thoughts on “Tales of Rape from Democratic Republic of Congo

    Dr. Rex said:
    September 15, 2015 at 4:00 pm

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    #SaveHumanity …..People of the Democratic Republic of Congo!! Share … all begins with awareness!!!

    Like

    Mr. Militant Negro said:
    September 15, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    Reblogged this on The Militant Negro™.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

