What will happen to Baher Mohamed?

Posted on

   

image

  I’m really concerned about the fate of Baher Mohammed, one of the Al Jazeera journalists imprisoned in Egypt.
Just as I feared and I wrote in my last post, “One Al Jazeera staff freed, two to go“, the release of Peter Gretse is not an improvement in the human rights clime of Egypt as regards freedom of speech.
And why do I say this?
      The Egyptian President, Abdel Fattah al-Sisi UNDER INTERNATIONAL PRESSURE, issued a Presidential decree as allowed by the Egyptian constitution to Deport the Foreigners among the Al Jazeera journalists held in Egypt.
Peter Gretse who is an Australian has been allowed to return to his home country while Mohammed Famhy who is a Canadian Egyptian has been allowed to drop his Egyptian nationality which he has done and his release is now in progress.
Even, Amal Clooney, Hollywood’s George Clooney’s wife and Human Rights lawyer, is set to fly to Egypt to ensure that Famhy’s release is granted immediately.
So, WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO BAHER MOHAMED?
     I was so sad to hear these words of Baher Mohamed’s wife, Rashid:
“We’re paying the price for being Egyptian. It’s the peak of injustice for my husband to remain in prison and be tried while his foreign colleagues are freed,”
      That sums it all! I don’t think I need to write further but I must say this:
Journalists around the world should know that this is a fight against their noble profession. They must stand up and fight for what they believe in, freedom of speech, information and expression; even as we Human Rights activists support them in this cause.
To all my supportive readers, have a good week and God bless you.

Written by Olisa Lotenna

Leave a Reply

