“Abducted and Raped”: A Real story

Posted on

   Joy:
     I’m Joy from the Democratic Republic of Congo. I’m married and have an eight year old daughter.
  My life has being ruined. I feel like ending my miserable life.
This nightmare began when armed men invaded our village. It was was a terrible experience; there was so much gunfire and smoke. So many houses were burnt and people killed. We (my husband, daughter and I) managed to escape but we werent able to take anything!
We fled to a refugee camp with some other villagers who also escaped. The refugee camp was so dirty, there was nothing to eat and so many other refugees were seriously ill.
    We stayed in the camp for two days without food. My daughter kept crying. I knew I had to do something, so I started asking women around if I could get food for my little daughter. Most of them didnt have enough for their families and couldnt help me. Finally, I came across a group of women who had raw rice. They were so scared and couldn’t go out to get firewood for cooking. They told me that it was very dangerous to go to the bushes to get some firewood.
One of them told me, “many have gone and never returned. However, if you’re willing to go, we will share the food with you”
That was my only option. I had to do something before my daughter starved to death. I accepted their offer. My husband insisted on following me. So, we set out together to look for firewood, somewhere outside the camp.
   We had gotten the firewood and were now returning back to the camp when we were suddenly stopped by mean looking armed men. One of them grabbed me, my husband quickly reacted and tried to fight him. The others pounced on him and started beating him with sticks and guns. He began to bleed seriously. They left him there and took me away with them. (till today I haven’t seen my husband and I dont know what happened to him).
   The men took me into the bush where I saw about ten other men.
They ordered me to strip. I refused. They slapped me and ripped off my clothes. One by one, they raped me, about fifteen of them. It was horrible. I was screaming and crying, completely helpless.  Some of them penetrated me anally. The pain was excruciating. I began to bleed from my anus. They were very brutal. They used me for all types of games: vaginal and anal fisting, inserted objects into me.
I fainted.  When I regained consciousness, they were ready to start again. I begged them, telling them that I hadn’t eaten for two days. They didnt listen. They raped me again.
    Note: this is a real story but the name of the victim was change for privacy.

   

5 thoughts on ““Abducted and Raped”: A Real story

    Nnamdi said:
    December 15, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    this is such a pathetic story. Painful!

    Like

    Bible for Love said:
    December 15, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    I’d love an article about the most effective ways of service: which anti-trafficking groups are making a real positive difference? How do partner with women in different countries constructively to help? how can we share our struggles, and at the same time support each other tangibly? because many are struggling in the US too. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

      lotenna responded:
      December 15, 2013 at 11:35 pm

      thanks.I’ll see what i can do.

      Like

    Mila Mrochek said:
    August 16, 2014 at 8:13 am

    Superb blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Kudos!

    Like

    […] of war in the war ravaged country. See some of the posts below: Rape and sexual violence in the DRC Abducted and raped: A real life story      Dear reader, kindly share your suggestions on what could be done to save […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

